340th FTG spotlights exceptional performers, resilience during Fall MUTA

  • Published
  • By Jet Fabara
  • 340th Flying Training Group Public Affairs

After a challenging year amidst COVID operations, the 340th Flying Training Group held its fall mandatory unit training assembly Oct. 28-29 at Joint Base San Antonio-Randolph, Texas. The 340th FTG usually holds two-day drill training periods bi-annually.

Col. Michael Vanzo, 340th FTG commander, commenced his commander’s call by thanking and recognizing members for their steadfast commitment and perseverance amidst a challenging season of personnel requirements and budgeting constraints. During his final remarks, he also took time to unveil a unit patch honoring the life of Mrs. Regina Somogyi.

Chief Master Sgt. Scott Goetze, 340th FTG command chief, also thanked all the team members during what would be his last MUTA with the Group before retiring. There he addressed the state of the enlisted force, highlighted those who received awards, recognitions, promotions, decorations, and completed professional military education.

The commander recognized the following members for exceptional performance in the following respective categories:

Gen. Larry O. Spencer Innovation Award

Undergraduate Flying Training Team

Wingman Saves

Staff Sgt. Bryce Johnson, 340th FTG Financial Management

Quarterly Awards (3rd Quarter)

NCO: Tech. Sgt. Daniel Grove, Center of Excellence

SNCO: Senior Master Sgt. Vianca Contreras, 97th Flying Training Squadron

Civilian (Category- II): Ms. Beverly Peden, 43rd FTS

Citizen Airman: Maj. Chris Ross, 70th FTS

CGO: Capt. Paul Moriarty, 96th FTS

FGO: Maj. Charles Fuller, 97th FTS

Instructor: Maj. James Baker, 5th FTS

Support Officer: Maj. Kelly Kareis, 39th FTS

Flight Commander: Maj. Chris Sommerfield, 96th FTS


Airman 1st Class Vanessa Flores

Senior Airman Charles Brantley

Tech. Sgt. Isabel Chea-Gause

Master Sgt. Michael Fagan

Master Sgt. Kyle Gossen

Master Sgt. Jenna DiMauro

Lt. Col. Aric Wagner

Fitness Excellence

Senior Master Sgt. Derrick Brown

Master Sgt. Christian Delgado

On-the-Spot Awards

Over the past seven months, the senior NCO council and group commander identified exceptional members of the staff and honored them for their contributions with an on-the-spot award. In addition to public acknowledgement of their efforts, award winners get to park in the commander’s parking space for a week.

On-the-Spot Award winners since May 2021 included the following:

Master Sgt. Melissa Klinksiek

Master Sgt. Christian Delgado

Master Sgt. Kyle Gossen

Tech. Sgt. Brett Daniel

Senior Airman Kimarie Suacedo

Mr. Shane McDonald

Mr. Bernie Aleman

Professional Military Education

Senior Master Sgt. Tricia Adolphues – Reserve Component National Security Course

Master Sgt. Tye McBride – NATO Staff Officer Orientation Course

Tech. Sgt. Dan Grove – NATO Staff Officer Orientation Course

Tech. Sgt. Isabel Chea-Gause – Military Reserve Exchange Program

The group also bid farewell to 14 members, and welcomed four new headquarters teammates.

The next MUTA is slated for March 2022.