340th FTG hosts spring commander's summit, MUTA

  • Published
  • By Jet Fabara
  • 340th Flying Training Group Public Affairs

The 340th Flying Training Group hosted a packed week of professional development and bi-annual training events March 28-April 1, 2022, for all 340th FTG personnel and squadron leadership.

Commander’s Summit

Commanders and senior staff from the 340th Flying Training Group’s seven squadrons first gathered at Fredericksburg, Texas from March 28-30 to identify issues, annotate them, and develop solutions to those issues as a cohesive team.

During the three-day summit, the group facilitated briefings to squadron leadership on everything from ethics, military personnel updates, financial management processes and medical topics, such as COVID-19 updates.

New Group Superintendent Chief Master Sgt. Christopher Howard also invited squadron superintendents to participate in the summit via video teleconferencing to discuss leadership lessons learned from the last summit amongst squadron commanders.

Spring Mass Unit Training Assembly

Following the commander’s summit and the 340th Change of Command on March 31, 2022, the group welcomed its new commander, Col. Kyle Goldstein. He began the MUTA by introducing himself and presenting an overview of his leadership style, his vision for fostering meaningful relationships and purposeful work, as well as outlining strategic priorities to those in attendance.

After this, briefers covered topics on religious freedom, Spring motorcycle rider safety, fostering professional relationships, RFT communication card, and Booster Club initiatives.

Col. Goldstein and CMSgt. Howard also recognized the following members for exceptional performance in the following respective categories:

Meritorious Service Medal

Lt. Col. David Mitchell, 340th FTG

Quarterly Awards (4th Quarter)

Airman: Senior Airman Charles Brantley, 340th FTG

Noncommissioned Officer: Tech. Sgt. Jessica Aloy, 340th FTG

Senior NCO: Master Sgt. Chelsea Cornell, 70th Flying Training Squadron

Field Grade Officer: Lt. Col. Megan Pasierb, 39th Flying Training Squadron

Instructor Pilot: Maj. Zachary Miller, 70th FTS

Support Officer: Maj. Charles Frost, 70th FTS

Citizen Airman: Maj. Donald Lewis, 96th Flying Training Squadron

Flight Commander: Lt. Col. Nicole Bain, 5th Flying Training Squadron

Annual Awards

NCO: Tech. Sgt. Billy Price, 70th FTS

SNCO: Master Sgt. Hugo Escobedo, 433rd Training Squadron

First Sergeant: Master Sgt. Trina U. Torres, 433rd TRS

CGO: Capt. Nathan Munn, 340th FTG Undergraduate Flying Training

FGO: Lt. Col. Timothy Norman, 43rd Flying Training Squadron

Instructor Pilot: Maj. Camber Governski, 96th FTS

Support Officer: Maj. Kelly Kareis, 39th FTS

Citizen Airman: Maj. Tyler Schultz 70th FTS

Flight Commander: Maj. Brian Smith, 340th FTG UFT


Chief Master Sgt. Kevin Dwyer, 97th Training Squadron

Chief Master Sgt. Timothy Barker, Career Enlisted Aviator Center of Excellence

Master Sgt. Brett Daniel, 340th FTG Financial Management

On-the-Spot Awards

Over the past few months, the senior NCO council and group commander identified exceptional members of the staff and honored them for their contributions with an on-the-spot award. In addition to public acknowledgement of their efforts, award winners get to park in the commander’s parking space for a week.

On-the-Spot Award winners since November 2021 included the following:

Master Sgt. Alecia Lovci, 340th FTG UFT

Senior Airman Rios Rivera, 340th FTG Military Personnel Flight

Master Sgt.  Michele Boyd, 340th FTG FM

Master Sgt. Janina White, 340th FTG MPF

The group also bid farewell to five members and welcomed four new headquarters teammates.

The next MUTA is slated for October 2022.